UGH Can’t Say No To Your Mama!

By Robin Mikkola

My back to nature trip to Minnesota was not all it could have been. Let me just say we are not the “Leave it to Beaver” kind of family. Husband is not a good traveler. Point A to Point B only, drive the speed limit, no radio, focus focus focus, you get the picture. Daughter, 22 years old and a great traveler. Stops at interesting and silly places, speed limit what speed limit, radio loud and proud. Imagine 15 hours of these too arguing and cussing and me sitting in the passenger seat singing old church camp songs. Then the rain came. It rained so much the polar bear and the seals at the Duluth Zoo had to be found and put back into their habitats. We had no phones or Internet for a day. Now you are probably thinking to your self ‘no big deal your on vacation’ right. Wrong all the stores in town work their cash registers off the Internet so we lost a day of shopping! Other than that and after the husband was released from the dog house we ended up having a pretty good time. Good food, a good book, family and friends really saved the week.

While on vacation I finished reading Clean, by Alejandro Junger M.D. that my friend suggested and all I’ve got to say is WOW! This book really changed my outlook on food and our bodies. I decided to do the “Elimination” week just to prepare my body for the on slot of nutrients it never has received. Breakfast was the hardest by far. No eggs, toast or cereal, the usual breakfast of champions. So I was really glad to get that over with. Next time smoothies for breakfast. After the first week I noticed that I didn’t bloat and get gassy as usual and I didn’t crash after lunch. I’ve never experienced a steady energy level before. Interesting. Now I am ready for the 21 day cleanse. Shopping done–check, blender out–check, juicer cleaned–check, Mom calls and wants me to go with her to North Carolina for the week–Priceless. UGH can’t say no to your mama. Packed the blender, juicer, grocery’s and clean underwear cause nothing is going to stop me now! The first two days were right on track but by day three we were on the go so much smoothies were out. No worries though this gave me ample opportunity to make better choices at restaurants and it wasn’t has hard as I thought. Did I miss the bread and the croutons or all the greasy, cheesy, gooey foods that I would normally choose? Not really and I can only say that because I’ve decided to make a life change. I mean for the first 40 some odd years I’ve over indulged with food among other things. I’ve never took the time to be aware of what went into my mouth. Therefore, I’ve whined about my figure knowing that the two go hand in hand but really being stuck on how to change it. So I’ve decided to live the next 40 years different than the first which I have dedicated to myself. It will not be perfect or the way most of society deems perfect. My life will be simple, full of love, laughter and much gratitude.

Leave a comment